Who do you relate to?

Out of the characters, thus far, in F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby, which one do you relate to the most? As always explain why. It can be for any reason, but take a look at your options and a brief description of each one. It’s all under the character map of the folks in this novel.

the-great-gatsby-character-map_514d045268c55

Are you…

NICK CARRAWAY – an observant, caring, curious person who narrates this amazing story giphy

DAISY BUCHANAN – a seductive, charming, secretly intelligent woman with a lot of powergatsby-what-gatsby-daisy

TOM BUCHANAN – a strong, confident, maybe a little too arrogant man who gets what he wantsjoel-edgerton-gatsby

JORDAN BAKER – an athletic, socially fun young woman who loves being in on the gossipJordan Baker

JAY GATSBY – a mysterious, self-made man who has a goal in mind that he wants to accomplishgiphy

 

26 responses to “Who do you relate to?

  1. I believe that I am more like nick because I always observe people and their opinions but I don’t give out opinions myself.

  2. I believe that I relate to Nick Carraway, because I am also observant, caring, and curious just like Nick. For example, when someone does something in front of me, I observe rather then comment on what they are doing. I keep my comments to my self unless I am told to do otherwise. Nick is also caring, and I relate to that in many ways because I care about almost everything around me. Lets not forget the one and only thing about me, I love asking questions, which is a way I build my curiosity levels.

  3. I believe im more like Nick Carraway because he listens to what everybody has to say but would never give his opinion on it.

  4. I think im most closely related to the gatsby because because he has shmoney and he spends his shmoney to impress nicks cousin

  5. I’m more related to nick in a way, he’s very low key but he observes his surroundings. His character is swift kinda, smart, settled.

  6. Nick because he is the one who tells the story, he watches everything, and he explains the feelings of the characters through his opinion. He is a nice, kind gentlemen. He is also nervous, like when Tom threw the phone and he fell down on the floor and was awkward when he saw his cousin Daisy. I connect to him because he is a gentlemen.

  7. I relate to Daisy Buchanan because I am also intelligent, however it is no secret. I relate to her laissez-faire attitude about life, the way she “goes with the flow” of what life brings. Also we both have blonde hair, and have similar goals in life for example I hope to someday marry into a wealthy family just like Daisy. The difference between us is that after I marry rich, I plan on still keeping my independence by remaining self sufficient and driven in my career.

  8. I mostly relate to Jay because I have a lot of goals I want to accomplish in the future and I like to impress people.

  9. I believe I’m more like Jay Gatsby . I would wana be a slef made man and I have goals that I want to accomplish in the near future.

  10. The character that I could relate the most is Nick. I am very observant to my surroundings especially to the people I care the most. I am also caring to those who are in trouble or in great pain, just like when Nick noticed Daisy was sad.

  11. I think I can relate to nick the most because I am very observant and always in other people’s business. I also think I relate to nick because he’s seems cool and don’t really look for problems

  12. I believe I’m more like Nick because I am a very curious person, I observe a lot thats around me. I also care about people such as my family.

  13. I think the character I relate most to is Nick because I’m usually just observing everyone else and what they’re doing. I’m also a caring person and like Nick , I don’t usually show it but through my actions it shows how much I care for a person.

  14. I think I relate to Nick Carraway, because I to am very observant to my surroundings and my conversations with people.

  15. id say i relate to jordan because i am athletic, tall and even though i dont like to be in the gossip, people seem to trust me with personal stuff, soi end up knowing alot without saying alot. which is what i think jordan is some what about but she just a little more out there with what she knows.

  16. I think I am more like Gatsby because im a mysterious person and you don’t know what I’ll do next . I also have a plan that I am certain I will accomplish because I have a mind set that I can do anything. P.S mr. Frade thanks for spoiling what’s gonna happen in the movie . You could have written SPOILER ALERT 😑

  17. I can relate to Nick because I will listen to you and I don”t really judge people that much and when I do I do it in my head. But I’m also like Jay.G because in a way I can be an Bellicose person when I don’t get my way.

  18. I can relate to Jay Gatsby but not that I’m a really mysterious that nobody knows about and want to know more about, instead I’m pretty determined and ambitious. If I lock a goal to mind to go after it to the point I’m not completely satisfied until I have reached the goal.

  19. I can relate to nick because I don’t say most of my thoughts and just keep them to myself. Like Nick I also observe people, hear conversations but it is very unlikely for me to try and join in if not asked to.

  20. i think i relate to Jordan Baker the most because I like to hear the gossip around but other than that just like her i have my mysteries that no one knows. People can see me as a selfish person and sometimes with in with my emotions.

  21. I relate myself to Daisy Buchanan because I love expensive things, people spoiling me and being the center of attention. I also love my family and wouldn’t do anything to leave my family’s name in shame. For instance, Daisy had to sacrifice the love of her life just for her to not be kicked out of her family. She loves them very much and knows they do it for her own good. Which I know I would do the same thing if I was in the same situation. Also just like Daisy I’m very stubborn and don’t like people telling me what to do.

  22. i believe that the character i relate to the most would be Daisy. i say this because just like Daisy, i enjoy to have an audience once in a while. i also enjoy being a bit melodramatic time to time. daisy like to be the high innocent rich girl who has it all, in the other hand i like to pretend and play the role of having it all. lastly i can relate to Daisy because she likes to get what she wants when she wants it; i can relate to that because when I’m determined to get what i want i get it anyway i can.

  23. I believe I can closely relate to Nick because I would only talk to a person if I really know them, if not then I would take time to get to know that person in a silent manor. I can say that I am a very curious person when someone is talking about something aloud and I have no clue what there talking about it just makes me more interested about the topic.

Leave a comment